Home > Cheap Vehicle Auctions > Is this website too good to be true?

Is this website too good to be true?

I recently stumbled upon a repossessed vehicle dealer with some 2009 cars for like $8,000-$10,000. Apparently, they already won the cars in auctions and can just sell it to the public straight away. They seem legitimate (every car has a over 5 photos, they gave an address and phone number), but it still seems too good to be true. They also have two of the same website with different URLs… Anyway, do you think they seem real? Are repossessed cars really this cheap? Do you think it’s safe to buy a car from them?

These are the websites (they’re exactly the same):
www.better-carsales.com
www.quality-autosales.com
Also, on their website (or sites…), they claim to be a Carfax Certified Dealer and Merchant Certified.

  1. not 2 B fooled
    May 19th, 2010 at 02:37 | #1

    According to the BBB website (Better Business Bureau), they have an A – rating, which is good. I would ask if the vehicles (1) are salvage titled and (2) if there are any warranties. A salvage title is sometimes uninsurable by insurance companies – check with your insurance co before deciding to purchase

  2. rick29148
    May 19th, 2010 at 02:39 | #2

    Watch Out – There’s a lot of cars that were flooded, and are just now starting to trickle into the used car markets……

  3. Otto
    May 19th, 2010 at 03:07 | #3

    The person who thinks being rated by the BBB actually means something needs to get a clue. They are a passe rating system with no power. I would not deal with such a place. Repossessed vehicles can have problems as the owners may have done hidden damage prior to them being taken back. The main point here is if it was a legitimate site, why would they have two different site addresses? Any time a deal seems too good to be true….it IS.

  4. PETER GRIFFIN
    May 19th, 2010 at 04:01 | #4

    SCAM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Checked out both sites, they list different addresses (one in NY, another in Michigan) but both share the same phone number. Very suspicious.

    Additionally, when you remove the “-” hyphen from qualityautosales.com…. it sends you to a different website of a legit business with the same name and address. I’m pretty sure the BBB grading is for the legit business not the scam website.

    Plus in the FAQ they claim that you do not pay sales tax because the cars are repossessions which is simply not true.

    Not to mention when I ran the Carfax, the years of the cars were different.

    I’m convinced it’s 100% Scam.

    When you think about it, it’s no different than all those fake Craigslist ads advertising cars at 1/3 their value.

  5. Doug
    May 19th, 2010 at 04:52 | #5

    I stumbled across this website about an hour and a half ago…seems to be about the time you found it. I felt the same way…this is too good to be true. I was initially taken in as the only info I found was by the BBB…but then doing some more research, I realized that info was for the other (real)company. I have a feeling, somebody copied the name, copied the address, and is hoping to scam a few people before people catch on. Otherwise, I’d like to think there would be SOMETHING on the Internet about this website/company.

    EDIT: Nice job Peter Griffin. Thanks for the info.

  6. ratko v
    May 19th, 2010 at 05:45 | #6

    :-)
    http://www.quality-autosales.com is registered in Panama, guess is it scam!?

  7. xx_satanic_mechanic_xx
    May 19th, 2010 at 06:10 | #7

    This is another in a long line of scame perpetrated by the same people.

    They have previously had sites under:

    Stars-automart.com
    barrera-autosales.com
    autoaven.com
    ultimate-autos.com
    affordable-autosales.com
    unlimited-autos.com

    These guys are nothing but liars and thieves.

    The cars are at other dealers. They snipe the photos from dealer websites, then try to photoshop out the identifyin information. They remove dealership signs and such from the background, but don’t always do a good job.

    Look at this one – bottom left photo – you can see that it is at a Ford dealership
    http://affordable-autosales.com/show_veh…

    yet this one is at a Mitsubishi dealership
    http://affordable-autosales.com/show_veh…

    And this one is very clearly at a Lincoln dealer
    http://affordable-autosales.com/show_veh…

    They also change the last digit of the VIN so that a google search of the VIN will not point you to the correct dealer. Check out a dealer in Dallas called “Earth Motor Cars” (a legit dealer). Look at his photos, then look at photos of similar cars on this website. You will find many that are identical – or at least the same backgrounds and buildings.

    This is the old Craigslist scam ramped up. They promise this amazing deal, you send money, then after 30-60 days of opertion, the site will be ‘closed for maintenance’ and your money will be gone.

    Buy locally. Get a car you can see, feel and drive. Because if you send these guys $1, all you will be is $1 poorer

  1. No trackbacks yet.